Sister of the Week, Katie!

Katie Horlacher 1

Katie Horlacher
Year: Junior, Pi
Major: Hospitality Management

1. What is your favorite quote and why?
 
I have a few that I really love:
 
“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” 
-Robert Brault
 
I read this quote sometimes to remind myself to enjoy the present day. I think people today get fixated on the future or worry too much about their day-to-day tasks. If you neglect to live in the moment or worry to much, you lose out on the important things in life. For example, I strive to make my relationships with my friends and family a priority in my schedule and to make them stronger each day. Doing little things like calling them just to catch up or seeing how their day is has strengthened my relationships and made me realize how big of an influence they are in my life.
 
“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit.” -Aristotle 
 
This quote puts life into perspective for me. Sometimes I second guess myself or don’t feel like I can accomplish things, especially when there’s tough classes or assignments. I’ve realized that if I have the willpower and determination, I can do whatever I set my mind to. I think that too many people let themselves be comfortable in their daily routines and then feel scared to try something new or move away from their comfort zones. I’m trying each day to perfect my habits and challenge myself so that I can be the best person I can be.
 
2. Do you have any hidden talents?
 
I’ve played the piano since 2nd grade which has been one of my favorite hobbies in my life!
 
3. What was your favourite memory from recruitment? 
 
My favorite memory from recruitment was Bid Cel because I felt so proud to be a part of Tri-Delta. We all cheered together and got so excited for our new members to come out of Wilson. It made me think of last Bid Cel when I received a bid for Tri-Delta and how excited I was to become a part of this amazing sisterhood!
Leave a Reply

