Meet Our Sister: Field Consultant Julia Ledwith

The sisters of Gamma Tau are proud to have our newly alumna sister, Julia Ledwith, representing Tri Delta on an international level this year! In the spring, she was selected as one of six Field Consultants for the 2013-2014 school year. The Field Consultant application and interview process is extremely challenging and competitive, so it is a huge honor for Julia to be chosen, and we can think of no one better for the job! She recently traveled to our Executive Office in Texas to go through Field Consultant training, and has already hit the road traveling to Tri Delta chapters around the country (and even in Canada!) Read on for her message below as she fills us in on her new adventure as a Field Consultant thus far.

FC Julia!
FC Julia!

My journey as a Tri Delta Field Consultant has begun, and I am still pinching myself thinking, ‘How lucky am I to be selected for the program?!’ I recently joined the five other outstanding women who will be traveling the country this year at Executive Office in Arlington, TX for two weeks of FC training. Going from dreaming about this opportunity, to then waiting anxiously for this journey to begin, to  finally finding myself at headquarters preparing for the year of a lifetime was totally surreal! Lucky for me, Noel Van Aartrijk (Virginia Tech) is from my same hometown, so we were able to share a plane ride full of nerves and excitement all the way to Texas. We were greeted at the airport by Jason Gomez, Director of Chapter Services for the West & Northeast. I was so excited to learn that I would be rooming with Lanie Patten (Oregon) for the two weeks of training, just across the hall from the other FC’s rooms. Throughout our stay, we convened in the evenings to chat and laugh and get work done, which was probably the best part of the training experience! We learned a lot (a LOT) about all things Tri Delta, became acquainted with every department of Executive Office and all its dedicated staff members, and did a lot of shopping (mostly at the Delta Shop), but the most amazing thing we did was become so close in such a short period of time. I made five new best friends, and that has never happened so quickly before in my life! We have a group text that is buzzing daily, and it’s really awesome to know that we have a network of support every step of this crazy journey. It just goes to show that sisterhood can be found in all corners of the country! Staying involved with Tri Delta beyond the collegiate years is truly an amazing opportunity, and there are so many ways to do that and connect with sisters that you have yet to meet! If I have learned anything since becoming an alumna member of Gamma Tau, it’s that membership is a lifetime experience!

Even more recently, I had my first chapter visit to the Phi Alpha chapter at the University of Toledo! It was the perfect place to start out because all of the women were welcoming and appreciative of having Fraternity support there in preparation for recruitment. It is truly fascinating to learn about the way that chapters are run elsewhere, having only seen how Gamma Tau does Tri Delta! I find it comforting to see the similarities, too. It’s awesome that there are some aspects of Tri Delta that are the same everywhere you go. To hear the Purpose produced by the voices of another group of women is amazing and yet bizarre! I can feel myself clinging tightly to those fundamental elements of Tri Delta to give me direction in this role. I had a fantastic, life-altering collegiate experience as a member of Gamma Tau, and I hope to help sisters of other chapters have their own great experiences!

In a few short days, I will hit the road again, this time for a month (before I have a break at home!). I hope that I can master the art of packing and look like a pro strolling through the airport, being able to detect the nearest Starbucks before I even get through security! Personal goal. A big piece of my heart belongs to Gamma Tau, so in a sense, my collegiate sisters are coming with me! 🙂

Delta Love,

Julia Ledwith

Julia & the other '13-'14 FCs!
Julia & the other ’13-’14 FCs!

We wish the best of luck to Julia on her FC journey this year! We know that she will take all her amazing qualities that she brought to Gamma Tau and spread them to every chapter she visits this year. We also have no doubt that she’ll become a traveling pro 🙂 Safe travels Julia!

Delta love,

The Sisters of Gamma Tau

Leave a Reply

