My Summer as a Working Delta

Have you been wondering what our sisters have been up to this summer? For some of our sisters, they are working hard at their summer jobs when they aren’t soaking up the summer sun. Here are a couple of our sisters in action!

Emily Weinberger (Senior, Mu)– “Im a camp counselor for a boy with autism. The camp is an inclusion program so all the special needs kids get individual one-on-one counselors within the large camp group of regular functioning kids too. It’s great to see the kids with special needs be included. We do sports, art, swimming, music and field trips each week. This week we are excited to go camping and roast marshmallows. The boy in the picture below is my camper Zack. This is my third year doing this and am loving this job. It is preparing me for my future career as a special Ed teacher.” 

Liz Verrecchia (Junior, Nu)– “I’ve gone to a camp every summer since I was 7 years old for siblings of cancer patients. Now I’m a counselor at the camp!  It’s called BRASS Camp through the organization Special Love, and it was during the week of July 20-28th as an overnight camp.” 

Melissa Negron (Senior, Nu)– “I’ve been interning at the Morrison Bruce Center for Promotion of Physical Activity for Girls and Women. I also work at Texas Roadhouse and I will be a Camp Counselor for the Ghandi Center for Global Nonviolence Peace Camp in August! Oh, and I’ve also been going on lots of beach trips/ rafting/ blue hole trips :)”

Lindsay Malinchak (Senior, Mu)– “I’m an intern at Deltek (http://www.deltek.com/) basically Im a marketing intern and I work on updating their website and their social media along with other things. 🙂 I will also be working for the company for the rest of the year at JMU!”

Taylor Wertheimer (Junior, Xi)– “I spend every day working at a restaurant at the beach called Watermans. I work with two other deltas, one from Virginia Tech and one from the College of Charleston!!”

Leah Wetchler (Alumni, Lambda)– “I am living in San Diego and interning fro a wedding planning company. I am also working at Michael Kors while I am doing this internship in order to make a little money. MK gives you free clothes, so who can say no?”

Leave a Reply

